Kim Seungwoo

Korea
Works: 8
About the artist

Kim Seungwoo is a contemporary Korean sculptor, lives in Seoul, South Korea.

Kim Seungwoo is known for his sculptures made from coins. In his practice, the artist relies on the Buddhist principle of non-attachment. Considering coins as a material, rather than as a value in itself, the artist reflects on the pros and cons of money, trying to reflect in his works reflections on social ambitions and cultural values.

Money has an inexplicable ability to attract and hypnotize the viewer. Kim Seungwoo looks at our relationship with money, hiding behind its physical beauty on the surface. In depth – behind the creation of these works is a persistent meditative work on collecting and building coins into a single artistic image. One by one, the artist stacks the coins without stopping, creating complex, surprisingly detailed three-dimensional sculptures. Each of them eventually consists of thousands of coins.

Kim Seungwoo, on the one hand, plays with the audience, waiting for a reaction to the eternal struggle of art and money provocatively combined in his sculptures, on the other – with Buddhist philosophy approaching the process of creating works, suggests the viewer a way to learn how to build relationships with money, without falling into the extreme of impulsive renunciation, but also without emotionally becoming attached to them, and asks a koan-like question: "Art is money, or money is art?".

Since 2017, Kim Seungwoo has been actively participating in contemporary art exhibitions in South Korea and the United States, as well as major international fairs, such as KIAF Seoul and Art Miami.

The artist's works are in large private collections in Seoul, France and the United States. This includes the private collection of Fortune International Group, the largest development and brokerage company in Miami.

Still

Works

Sort by
Retail price
From
To
Category
Color
Size
Длина
From
см
To
см
Ширина
From
см
To
см
Автор
12 000 000
Giant
2019
1 200 000
Layer I
2019
6 800 000
Balzac
2019
2 300 000
Black Circle
2019
2 500 000
Laminate
2017
1 700 000
Laminate II
2017
9 500 000
Venus de Milo
2018
1 200 000
Circle X
2019

Kim Seungwoo

Корея
Работы: 11
О художнике

Kim Seungwoo (1973) – современный корейский скульптор, живет и работает в Сеуле, Южная Корея.

Kim Seungwoo известен своими скульптурами, сделанными из подлинных корейских металлических монет. В своей практике художник опирается на буддийский принцип непривязанности. Рассматривая монеты как материал, а не как самоценность, художник рассуждает о плюсах и минусах денег, стремясь в своих работах отразить размышления о социальных амбициях и культурных ценностях.

Деньги обладают необъяснимой способностью притягивать и гипнотизировать зрителя. Kim Seungwoo рассматривает наши отношения с деньгами, на поверхности прикрываясь их физической красотой. В глубине – за созданием этих работ стоит упорный медитативный труд по собиранию и выстраиванию монет в единый художественный образ. Одну за другой художник складывает монеты, не останавливаясь, создавая сложные, удивительно детализированные трёхмерные скульптуры, каждая из которых в итоге состоит из десятков тысяч монет.

Kim Seungwoo c одной стороны играет со зрителем, ожидая реакции на вечную борьбу искусства и денег, провокационно объединённых в своих скульптурах, с другой – с буддийской философией подходя к процессу создания работ, подсказывает зрителю способ научиться выстраивать отношения с деньгами, не отрекаясь, но и не впадая в зависимость от них, и задаёт похожий на коан вопрос: «Искусство – это деньги, или деньги – это искусство?».

С 2017 года Kim Seungwoo активно участвует в выставках современного искусства в Южной Корее и США, а также крупных международных ярмарках, в частности, KIAF Seoul и Art Miami.

Работы художника находятся в крупных частных коллекциях в Сеуле, Франции и США. В том числе, в частной коллекции Fortune International Group, крупнейшей девелоперской и брокерской компании в Майами.

Ещё

Работы

Сортировка
Цена
От
До
Категория
Цвет
Размер
Длина
От
см
До
см
Ширина
От
см
До
см
Автор
12 000 000
Giant
2019
1 200 000
Layer I
2019
6 800 000
Balzac
2019
2 300 000
Black Circle
2019
2 500 000
Laminate
2017
1 700 000
Laminate II
2017
9 500 000
Venus de Milo
2018
1 500 000
Circle X
2019
1 500 000
Circle
2019
ПРОДАНО
Circle VII
2019
ПРОДАНО
Apple
2019